We finally make it to Kate’s school, Abraham Lincoln High School — home of the Railsplitters. I don’t know what a Railsplitter is – it sounds like an alien from one of Pop-Pop Moe’s books. Probably something to do with trains, though. Either way, it feels like stepping into an alternate universe, but not the cool kind with like, wizards or laser piranhas. The outer walls of the school building make the first impression, freshly painted. Well, fresh if you consider maybe two or three years ago as fresh. Someone’s been trying to put a good face on a tired building.

But the sidewalks, man, they don’t lie. They’re cracked and uneven, worn down by the weather and, I guess, hundreds of feet every day. The lawns, too, are a dead giveaway. Spots of brown and yellow, like bald patches on a dude desperately clinging to his last remnants of hair. I feel a pit in my stomach as I walk, kinda like the pit you get when you’re nervous, except it’s not fluttery or sick. It’s just… there. Just sitting there like a lump, all heavy and obstinate.

And then there are the banners. Yellow and black, the school colors of the bumblebee, hanging limply from the lampposts and clinging to the school walls. You can tell someone tried to spruce up the place, to make it feel inviting, but it’s like slapping a “New and Improved!” sticker on a years-old laptop. You’re not fooling anyone; we all know what’s underneath.

But what really catches my eye is the graffiti. Like, it’s EVERYWHERE. Tags sprayed on the walls, doodles etched into the benches, initials carved into the trees. An entire sculpture of gum, or maybe clay, emerges like the limb of a cactus out of a nearby trash can. A school staff member — maybe a teacher or janitor or both? — is out on the lawn, scrubbing fiercely at one of the graffiti marks. There’s a bucket of soapy water next to them, and their brush moves in aggressive swirls, as if they could erase not just the graffiti but whatever drove someone to make it in the first place.

They pause, looking up, their eyes meeting mine for just a second. Then they go back to scrubbing, their movements a little slower now, a little more defeated. It’s like they’re fighting this never-ending battle against the spray cans and the restless energy that keeps putting marks on these walls. And that thought, that they keep going even when it looks hopeless, makes me feel kind of sad. More than kind of, actually. It makes me really sad.

I look away, shaking off the feeling. Jamila’s going to meet me here, and I don’t want to bring all this weird energy into watching Kate’s game. But as I stand there, on the cracked sidewalk of this too-big school, that feeling, that this place is living a life very different from mine, doesn’t go away. It stays, lingering like the last notes of a song you can’t get out of your head. And I can’t help but wonder what tune this place would hum if it could.

Just when I’m about to pull out my phone and text Jamila to see where she’s at, a taxi pulls up to the curb. The car’s not one of those shiny yellow cabs you see in movies; it’s more like someone’s used sedan that’s seen better days, but still manages to do its job. The back door swings open, and out steps Jamila, a swirl of colorful hijab and a backpack that looks like it’s seen just as many highs and lows as this school.

She pays the driver, who speeds off as if eager to get away from this place, leaving a brief cloud of exhaust that lingers in the air longer than it should. Jamila spots me and her face brightens into a smile, as she walks over. As she gets closer, I notice her eyes scan the building and the worn surroundings. She doesn’t look surprised or taken aback, just kind of… accepting, like this is par for the course.

“Hey, Sam,” she greets me, pulling me into a quick hug. It’s warm and comfortable, and for a moment, that pit in my stomach feels less heavy.

“Jamila, you made it. I was starting to think I’d have to sit through Kate’s scrimmage alone. Did you have trouble getting here?” I ask.

“Nah, just the usual Philly traffic. It’s a mess, as always,” she replies. “This is the school, huh? Reminds me a bit of King High. They could be cousins, honestly.”

“Yeah?” I feel a bit relieved to hear that. “I was just thinking how different it is from my school.”

She shrugs, but her eyes stay sharp, like she’s weighing what those differences mean. “Different or not, it’s still a school. Kids learn, make friends, get into trouble. The paint on the walls doesn’t change that.”

“Yeah, it’s big,” I say. Abraham Lincoln High School is eight times — eight times! — the size of my school. And they don’t have admission requirements or anything, which, I guess, has its pros and cons. More people can get in, but then you got to deal with, well, more people. My mind races a bit, wondering what kind of people Kate has to deal with here. Is she okay? Is she happy? Why does thinking about that make me feel kinda weird and kinda sad? “Eight times bigger than mine.”

“Eight times bigger,” Jamila adds, “But not necessarily eight times better.”

“Tell me about it,” I reply, taking her hand. Obviously, the funding issues of Philadelphia schools are legendary, even for someone my age – it’s just kind of startling to see it in such stark relief.

“C’mon,” Jamila says, letting go of my hand so she can hook her arm through my arm instead. “Let’s go find good seats before the game starts.”

I laugh. “It’s a scrimmage. I don’t think we’re gonna be, like, at a loss for seats.”

As we walk, my eyes keep darting around, like, taking in all the details. The asphalt beneath our feet is cracked, filled in places with weeds stubborn enough to grow through the fractures. The school’s walls, those look new. Fresh paint, a bright yellow that catches the sun. But the newness stops at the walls.

“Look at that,” I say, pointing to graffiti sprayed over a door that probably leads to some janitorial closet. They’ve painted over it, but you can still see the outline of the letters. Rebellion seeping through the cracks.

Jamila sighs. “They try to clean it up, but it always comes back. Graffiti’s like that. Persistent.”

I smirk, squeezing her arm a little. “Kinda like you.”

She rolls her eyes but smiles, and my heart does this little flip thing that I pretend not to notice. “I’ll take that as a compliment,” she says.

We reach a side entrance, the words “GYMNASIUM” written in all caps above the door. Seems like they’ve given up on the fancy aesthetic here. It’s just a plain, metal door, dinged up and scratched. I push it open and we step inside, and my senses kind of get hit by this wave of, well, gymnasium-ness.

The air is, like, a mix of rubber from the basketballs and that clean-ish smell of industrial cleaning products. And sweat. Sounds echo in a weird way; the squeak of sneakers, the bounce of balls, and random conversations blend together, bouncing off walls. It’s a cavernous space, big enough to fit probably four of my school’s gyms inside it. There’s a sort of lobby area connecting the gym to the rest of the school, with glass trophy cases that are half-full–or half-empty, if you’re into being a pessimist–showing off awards from years past.

“Some collection,” Jamila says, her eyes scanning the trophies.

I nod, my own gaze wandering. There’s a glass case filled with team photos, a history of Railsplitters past. Some wear triumphant smiles, some look like they’d rather be anywhere else. “Yeah, they’ve got history.”

“Do you think Kate will end up in one of those pictures?” Jamila asks. “I don’t really know much about her, you’ve been remarkably reticent about your non… after-school friends.”

“You heard what they said about professional life and personal life, Jams.” I reply, flicking hair out of my face. I sigh, feeling a sudden lump form in my throat. “Yeah, Kate and I go way back. Kindergarten. We used to think fighting each other was how you became friends. Got into trouble more times than I can count. We didn’t know any better, we were just kids with too much energy.”

Jamila chuckles, probably imagining tiny me and tiny Kate scrapping in the schoolyard. “And then?”

“Then we got smart. Figured out that there are better ways to channel all that energy. I went for soccer, she went for basketball. We still competed, but it was friendly, you know? Not like the schoolyard wars we used to have.”

“So what happened? You still look like you miss her.”

My mouth opens, but it takes a second for words to come out. The ache in my chest grows. “We grew up, I guess. I started doing my… after-school activities,” the last part said with a wistful heaviness. “Plus we don’t go to the same school anymore. Blame my parents for that one.”

I try not to blame them too much. They just want what’s best for me. I walk over to a glass case, tracing a finger lightly over the surface, over faces frozen in time. I’m looking for her face among the team photos, even though I know she’s too young to be in these archived shots. But the search is comforting, even if it’s futile.

“Plus, I haven’t been a great friend lately,” I add softly, not sure if I’m talking to Jamila or to the ghosts behind the glass. “My life got… complicated. More secrets to keep, more reasons to drift apart. And the worst part? Kate’s the sort of person who’d understand if I could tell her, but I can’t, and that sucks. I can’t put her in danger of a freaking… random dinosaur attack.”

Jamila nods, her expression gentle but serious. “I get it. The stuff we’ve got to do, it’s not easy on friendships. Or on us.”

“Yeah.” My eyes finally leave the glass case, settling back on her. “It’s just… seeing her school, thinking about her life here… the world doesn’t stop spinning just because I’m off saving it.”

We’re both silent for a moment, and then Jamila breaks it. “Hey, life’s messy, complicated. Friends drift, but they can also drift back. We’re here now, right? Maybe it’s a chance for you to reconnect. Even heroes need to maintain their friendships.”

I smile, a genuine smile that pushes away a tiny bit of the melancholy. “You’re right, Jams.”

She grins back, hooking her arm in mine again. “Of course I am. Now, let’s go find those seats. The night’s still young, and who knows? Maybe you’ll get a chance to cheer Kate on.”


The gym at Abraham Lincoln High School doesn’t look too bad, actually. Not like the rest of the place. Which is weird, because most of the school gives off that “in need of renovation” vibe. It’s like someone dumped all their care into this single gym and then shrugged at the rest. Kinda unfair, if you ask me.

Jamila and I find a spot on the bleachers, and they’re pretty much empty. Like, there’s only a handful of people here, some random friends, and maybe one or two parents. Makes me wonder why they bothered making it look so good if no one’s showing up. I guess basketball isn’t a big deal here, or maybe it’s just that it’s a scrimmage and not an official game? Either way, it’s weird, because Kate is super into basketball. She used to tell me it was like therapy, only way cheaper.

My legs bounce up and down, bumping against the bottom of the bleacher in front of me. It’s like a nervous habit or something, except I’m not the one playing. But Kate is, so that’s kinda the same. Right? Jamila, ever the calm presence, rests a hand on my knee, giving me that “It’ll be okay” look. She’s not saying it, but I know that’s what her eyes mean. I try to take a deep breath, but it doesn’t help much.

The whistle blows and the game starts. Right off the bat, Kate’s in the zone. She’s like this miniature tornado on the court, dodging, dribbling, zipping past people like they’re standing still. She’s got her short hair in a small ponytail, sandy and short, bobbing with every move she makes. Then there’s Olson, or that’s what her jersey says, towering over the rest, this wall of a person you’d think could block out the sun. Her eyes are locked onto Kate like a missile, and you can tell she wants to put an end to this one-woman show.

Kate’s dribbling down the court and Olson’s right there, mirroring her every move. But Kate’s fast, almost unnaturally so, and she pulls this spin move that leaves Olson lunging for air. For a heartbeat, it’s like watching a matador and a bull. Kate takes her shot, a clean arc, and–swish–it’s nothing but net. I let out an involuntary cheer, not caring that I might be the only one. “Go Kate!”

But Olson’s not giving up; you can see it on her face. I wonder momentarily if anyone is sitting on the bleachers, watching her, knowing her first name and thinking of Kate only as “Smith”. Next play, she gets the ball and drives to the hoop. She’s got the height, obviously, and uses it to shoot over her defenders. The ball bounces on the rim, teeters for a moment, and drops in. Score one for the giants.

Kate’s back with the ball, a glint in her eye. She dribbles to the three-point line, feints a pass, and then–surprise–it’s a quick sidestep and she’s going for it. Olson lunges, arm outstretched, fingertips just millimeters away from the ball. But she misses. The ball is airborne, flying, sailing–and it sinks through the hoop like it’s got GPS. Another perfect three-pointer. Jamila beside me claps, her eyes lighting up; she’s not a basketball fan, but she loves seeing people excel, and Kate’s doing just that.

Olson growls, almost inaudible, but I catch it. She’s mad, and it’s like watching a volcano right before it erupts. This time, she’s dribbling down the court, not even passing, it’s a one-woman mission. Kate tries to guard her, but Olson’s strong, shoves a bit with her shoulder, makes room, and leaps. She slams the ball through the hoop, a resounding dunk that makes the backboard shudder. And she lands, a smug look on her face, like she’s just conquered Everest.

“Team sport, girls! Share the rock!” The coach yells from the sidelines, her voice breaking through the tension like a clap of thunder.

The atmosphere is electric, almost palpable. Kate dribbles down the court, swift as ever, but this time she’s got something different in mind. Just past half-court, she sends a quick pass to Martinez, jersey reading “27,” who’s hovering near the three-point line. Martinez fakes a shot but dishes it off to Kim, her jersey reading “8,” who’s cutting toward the basket.

Kim takes the pass and immediately faces resistance. Two defenders converge on her, and for a moment, it looks like she’s cornered. But then she spots Kate, who’s managed to shake Olson for a split second. A rapid pass back to Kate, and it’s game on again.

Kate and Olson lock eyes. The tension peaks; it’s a showdown, a duel for the ages. Kate starts her move, zigzag dribbling designed to confound. Olson is unyielding, every muscle coiled like a spring, ready to strike. But then Kate pulls a fast one–instead of driving, she suddenly stops, just a foot from Olson, and goes airborne.

The shot is like something out of a fairy tale; it arcs high over Olson’s outstretched fingers, hovering for an eternity before it descends. Swish–the ball sails cleanly through the net, no backboard, no rim, just net. The buzzer for halftime blares, echoing through the gym.

And the gymnasium comes alive. Sure, it’s not an ear-splitting roar, but the energy level definitely spikes. Jamila’s clapping is so vigorous it’s like she’s trying to start a one-woman wave. And me? I’m grinning so wide it feels like my face might split.

The halftime whistle blows. Kate’s team is ahead, and not just on the scoreboard. They’re jelling, playing like a unit, and it’s beautiful to watch. It’s a scrimmage, yes, but the spirit is pure competition. Kate’s not just a star; she’s a team player, and that makes the win–even a scrimmage win–all the sweeter. She’s fighting her battle out there, same as I fight mine. And in that moment, pride swells within me, not for my feats but for hers. Sometimes, that’s victory enough.

I start to get up, thinking maybe I can catch Kate before she disappears into the locker room or whatever they do during halftime. Jamila tugs gently at my sleeve. “You sure you want to go talk to her now? She might be busy.”

“I just wanna say hi,” I say, but I hesitate, my hand hovering over the edge of the bleacher. “Should I? Or is that weird?”

“It’s your call, Sam,” Jamila says. But she’s got that concerned look, the one she gets when she’s not sure what the best thing to do is but doesn’t want to tell me what to do. It’s a nice look. It doesn’t help right now.

I sit back down, my legs still restless but maybe a bit calmer now. “Let’s just watch. She seems like she’s in the zone, and I don’t wanna mess that up for her.”

Jamila nods, and we turn our attention back to the court, waiting for the second half to start. My fingers drum against my thighs, forming a rhythm that only makes sense to me.

The buzz of the buzzer is still ringing in my ears when the ref places the ball on the court for the tip-off. Kate and Olson square off again. The ball goes up, and it’s like time slows down. Olson stretches to her full height, but Kate gets the tip. She taps it toward Martinez, and we’re back in action.

This time, Olson’s team looks ready. They’re anticipating Kate’s every move. Johnson, with her jersey reading “2,” is guarding Martinez. As Kate makes a quick pass, Johnson leaps into action, almost intercepting it. Almost. Martinez catches the ball by the skin of her teeth and quickly passes to Kim, who’s right under the basket.

Kim leaps, her fingers just grazing the rim, but her layup is too soft. The ball bounces off, and for a terrible moment, it looks like it’s Olson’s turn to shine. She grabs the rebound and is off, charging down the court like a runaway train.

Kate’s hot on her heels, but Olson’s not slowing down. She executes a flawless crossover, leaving a defender biting air. Closing in on the basket, she jumps and releases the ball. It hangs in the air, a spinning globe of possibilities, before it swishes through the hoop. Two points. Just like that.

Back on the other end of the court, Kate’s calling the play. Her eyes scan the defenders, evaluating options. Her gaze locks onto Jackson, jersey “14,” who’s making her way around a screen set by Kim. The pass is perfect. Jackson receives it, pivots, and shoots a mid-range jumper. It’s off the mark.

Olson snatches another rebound, and it’s déjà vu all over again. She dribbles with intent, but this time Kate’s ready for her. Just as Olson gears up for another incredible shot, Kate times her jump perfectly and blocks it. The ball ricochets off the backboard, and Martinez grabs it.

The counterattack is lightning quick. Kate sprints down the court, Martinez trailing her. At the last second, she dishes it to Martinez, who fires from beyond the arc. Three-pointer. Nothing but net.

The clock is ticking down, less than a minute left on the game clock. Tensions are high, and everyone’s on edge, the weight of the scrimmage outcome hanging over both teams. Kate’s team is ahead by that last three-pointer, but Olson’s face tells me she’s far from admitting defeat. She gets the inbounds pass and starts a slow dribble up the court, her eyes coldly assessing every angle.

Kate’s shadowing her closely, mirroring her every move. Olson fakes left, goes right, then throws a behind-the-back pass to Thompson, whose jersey reads “33.” Thompson seems surprised to get the ball, hesitates for just a split second before taking a shot from the free-throw line. It clangs off the rim.

Time is running down, seconds ticking away like droplets in a rainstorm. Kate’s team holds a narrow lead, but the game’s not over. Olson’s face is a mask of concentration; she’s plotting, planning. She receives the rebound and dribbles with a kind of frenzied calm, if that makes any sense.

She makes her move, cutting to the basket. Kate anticipates, mirroring her. Olson leaps for a layup. Kate jumps to block. Their hands meet in mid-air, a clash of wills and skills. The ball wobbles uncertainly for a moment before dropping.

Into Kate’s hands.

As the buzzer sounds, signaling the end of the scrimmage, Kate dribbles the ball a few times before letting it come to a rest at her feet. She looks up, locking eyes with Olson. They nod at each other, a silent acknowledgment of a game well-played. And then Kate turns to her teammates, her face breaking into a grin, and they rush her, a mass of ecstatic humanity.

From my spot in the bleachers, I can’t hear what Kate and Olson are saying to each other, but their conversation looks animated, punctuated by gestures and quick bursts of laughter. Whatever rivalry they had on the court seems to have melted into camaraderie, the kind forged in the crucible of competition. They share a high-five that’s perfectly timed, a testament to their athletic synchronization. Then comes a secret handshake, intricate and quick, a series of slaps, snaps, and finger flicks that ends with both of them pointing at each other, like duelists marking their respect.

It’s then that Kate’s eyes roam the stands, perhaps looking for someone, perhaps just soaking in the afterglow of the game. Her gaze lands on us. There’s a momentary flicker of recognition, and then her face lights up. Even from this distance, the sincerity of her smile is unmistakable. She lifts her hand and waves, making sure to catch my eye.

I wave back, a small but heartfelt gesture, and her smile widens, if that’s even possible. It’s like an unspoken promise, a moment of connection that says, “We’ll catch up soon.”

Jamila nudges me, her eyes twinkling. “Looks like you caught her eye after all.”

“Yeah,” I reply, feeling a warmth spread through me that has nothing to do with the atmosphere in the gym. “Yeah, it looks like I did.”


The game finally comes to an end, and we won! Or rather, Kate’s team won. Or rather, Kate’s half of Kate’s team won. I didn’t really have much to do with it, but I cheered as loud as I could, and Jamila’s claps were practically wind gusts. I can’t help but be excited as the team gathers in a huddle, doing one of those on-the-count-of-three team shouts. I think it’s something like “Go Wildcats!” but I can’t really make out the words from here. Jamila turns to me with a grin. “Your friend is pretty good out there.”

“Yeah, she’s always been a natural,” I reply, beaming. We decide to head down toward the court, weaving through the bleachers, dodging stray basketballs and dodgier parents arguing about referee calls. For a scrimmage game? Really? I keep my eyes on Kate. She’s wiping her face with a towel, sandy blonde hair sticking to her forehead. Freckles stand out more when she’s flushed like this.

As we approach, I catch her eye and wave, a full arm kind of wave that probably looks a bit silly but who cares? “Hey, Kate! Great game!”

Kate looks up and smiles. It reaches her eyes, but it’s tired, you know? “Hey, Sam. Thanks for coming. And you must be…?” She glances at Jamila.

“Jamila,” she supplies, offering a handshake that Kate returns. “Sam’s girlfriend. You really know how to play.”

“Thanks,” Kate says, dropping her hand back to her side, “it’s something, at least. Didn’t know Sam liked girls.”

There’s that weird pause, right? Like, what do you say after ‘it’s something, at least’? So I jump right into it. “How are you feeling? You must be psyched about the win,” I say, kind of walking past that last part. It’s not something I really would like to dig into right now. Not here, not with Kate, not in public. Sorry.

“I am,” she nods, taking another sip from her water bottle. “It’s good for team morale to start the season with a win.”

“Yeah, I bet,” I agree, nodding along because that sounds like something I should nod to. “Wait, that doesn’t make sense, you just won against your own team.”

Kate bends down into a fake boxing stance and jabs me twice in the ribs. “You’re too smart for your own good, Small,” she teases, rolling her shoulders until they pop. She finally wraps the towel around her neck, eyes flicking from me to Jamila and back again. “So how’s Tacony? Your new school?”

Her tone shifts just a fraction. Maybe it’s my imagination, but it’s like something’s missing now. “Uh, it’s good, you know? Different crowd, different teachers. We’ve got a pretty good basketball team too. I mean, not that I’m on it or anything.”

Kate chuckles, “Well, you’ve never been the sporty type,” she jokes, jabbing me in the ribs with two knuckles again. I think a couple months ago that would’ve hurt, but now it just takes the wind out and then feels warm.

I laugh too, but it’s a half-laugh. Like, I want to find it funny, but something’s making it hard to. Jamila steps a bit closer to me, maybe she’s sensing something too, or maybe she’s just getting bored. “Do you miss the old school?”

Kate’s shoulders lift in a half-shrug. “Some parts. Not all.” And there’s a pause again, filled only by the ambient noise of people packing up and leaving the gym. “But change is inevitable, right?”

“Yeah, guess so,” I manage to say, and I’m getting this weird feeling like I want to be anywhere but here. And that’s crazy because Kate’s my friend, right? We go way back.

“Hey, I better head off,” Kate says, “Coach wants to go over some things with us, you know, post-game talk. I’ll be back around, though. Don’t go far!”

“Yeah, sure. Do your thing, superstar,” I grin, trying to bring back the good vibes.

Jamila and I wave as she jogs off to join her teammates, who are gathering around their coach. And then it’s just us, standing on the side of the court.

“Was it just me, or was that conversation a bit… off?” Jamila asks.

I sigh, pulling my phone from my pocket to check the time. “I don’t know. Maybe we’re just reading into things.”

“Yeah, maybe,” she agrees, but I can tell she’s not entirely convinced. And, honestly? Neither am I.

Kate comes back from talking with her coach, her face all sweaty but her eyes are kinda steely. I think she might be tired, but it’s the kind of tired that makes you more awake. I can’t describe it, but I know what it feels like. “Hey, thanks for coming again, it’s real,” she says, but her voice doesn’t really match her words, like when you have to say thank you but you don’t want to.

“Of course! You were great out there. Like I said.” I mean it, but the atmosphere’s like one of those old cartoons where a rain cloud follows you. It’s awkward and heavy, but not like the good kinda heavy. “So how’s your dad doing? I heard he was having a rough time,” I try to change the subject. I shouldn’t have brought it up. I know that now, the second it leaves my mouth.

Kate walks a little ahead of me and Jamila as we make our way out of the gym, her sneakers squeaking on the polished floor. “He’s managing. Had to take up a second job, though. You know how it is with money these days. Tight.” She says the last word like she’s squeezing the air out of a balloon, and I’m pretty sure she doesn’t know her fists are clenched. I notice it though. I always notice weird stuff like that. “How are your folks doing, like I didn’t hear about your house getting crushed by a dinosaur attack?”

“Dino attack? Oh, yeah. Total mess. I mean, who expects to get a text from your dad saying, ‘Don’t come home. Dino invasion.’, right?” I shake my head, disbelief still lingering even though it’s been days. “We’re doing okay though, considering. Living with Lily for now. My parents are out in Ventnor with Pop-Pop.”

“That’s quite a switch,” Kate says, brows knitting together like she’s doing some complex math problem in her head. “I mean, from city to… Ventnor. That’s gotta feel weird, doesn’t it?”

“A little bit, but it’s better than dodging a T-Rex on the way to the bathroom.” I give her a lopsided grin, and I see her lips twitch a little, like she wants to smile but can’t quite manage it. “The quiet’s kinda nice, actually. Helps with homework.”

“Homework,” she mutters, and I hear something like an edge in her voice, but it’s so faint that I might be imagining it. “Right. So you’re not out doing your, uh, afterschool activities all the time?”

I shrug, picking up the code in her words easily enough. “Gotta balance, you know? Can’t save the world if I’m failing Algebra.”

Kate lets out a small laugh, a real one this time, and it’s like a valve’s been released. “Fair enough. Still, must be something, living with a friend like that. I don’t think I could do it.”

“It’s a change,” I admit. “But we make it work. What about you? Ever think of leaning on friends? With your dad and all? If you ever need help, you can ask me, you know?” I offer, not knowing how else to say it.

She looks at me and her eyes are kind of cloudy, like there’s a mist hiding what she’s really thinking. “Thanks, but we got it. Just some obstacles, you know? We’ll climb over them.” We step out of the gym and into the lobby, which has the smell of a lot of kids running around and sweating all day. I can see her lock that part of her life back up, like she’s tucking it into a safe and swallowing the key.

Jamila’s been super quiet, maybe picking up on the weird vibes. “Sounds tough, but also sounds like you’re handling it,” she finally says, trying to make it less uncomfortable maybe? Kate gives her a smile, but it’s quick and it goes away like a bubble popping. She doesn’t know Jamila as well as she knows me, so she doesn’t really owe her a fake smile, but she gives her one anyway.

“Yeah, you’re resilient. Always have been,” I add, even though I know something’s really off. There’s like, a thing in the air, and it’s not just the sweaty-gym-smell.

“Uh-huh. So, you two doing anything for Halloween?” Kate asks, as we push through the lobby doors, out onto the sidewalk where it’s finally cooler, and my hair isn’t clinging to my neck so much. I get why she’s changing the subject. Halloween is safer, and I jump at the change.

“Probably just gonna hand out candy, maybe watch a scary movie,” I say. “You?”

“Trick-or-treating alone, mainly to get snacks for a few weeks. You know how it is,” she says, kind of laughing but not the way you laugh when something’s actually funny. “What about you, Sam? You got plans? Or do you gots any ‘plans’?” She puts quotes around the word “plans” like she’s doodling in the air, and I know she means the afterschool activities. Superhero stuff. “You know, them jawns.”

“Oh, you know, the usual stuff,” I reply, trying to play it cool but feeling about as cool as a hot stove. “Hopefully, no plans. I’d rather have some peace and quiet for like at least a day or two.”

Jamila’s eyes flicker for just a moment, like a really quick blink, when she catches on to what we’re not actually saying. “I met Sam at our afterschool activities, actually. It’s been good, really engaging,” she chimes in, and for a fraction of a second, Kate’s eyes do something. I don’t even catch what they did, just that her face changes expression so fast I don’t even know if Kate notices.

“Engaging’s one way to put it,” I try to laugh it off, but there’s that rain cloud again. It’s just getting darker.

“Sounds like you’re keeping busy then,” Kate says, and I can’t help but feel like every word’s got a double meaning. It’s like walking on a tightrope, except I’m really bad at balancing. I don’t know how much longer I can keep this up without falling flat on my face. “Can’t believe my best friend is getting engaged at fourteen!”

“That’s not what I said!” I protest, thumping Kate in the chest. She goes staggering a couple of feet, skidding down against the sidewalk. “Oh my G-d, I am so sorry.”

Kate just laughs, something harsh and almost wet bubbling up in her throat. But the laugh quickly mutates into something genuine. “God damn. When did you become a boxer, dude? That hurt.”

“Do you need medical assistance? I have some bandaids–” Jamila offers, but Kate waves her off, getting back to her feet, stretching herself, hopping back and forth a little bit and then shaking her arms out.

“No, no, I’m good, girl. Damn. That was a rush. When’d you get that beef?” Kate repeats, her expression suddenly piqued, going from uncomfortable storm cloud to uncomfortably laser focused on me. I notice, for the first time, Kate actually looking at me, rather than just sort of at me, if the distinction makes any sense. She looks at my arms, my legs. My callused skin. My dense knuckles, almost leathery. “Jesus.”

I laugh nervously, scratching the back of my head. “Just training. My bones get hard really fast because of, you know. The cat scratch stuff.”

“Crazy. You’ll have to teach me how to do that some day. I could use knuckles like those,” Kate replies, hawking a loogie down into a nearby storm drain. “Soz, that was gross.”

I wave it off. “Dude, I spit teeth, it’s fine. You sure you’re okay?”

She looks better than okay, honestly. Like there’s a fire in her eyes now, life suddenly returning. I see a spark and I’m glad to see it. I’m not sure how punching her in the boob helped with that, but I’ll take what I can get. “I’m super, Small. Y’all need a taxi home?”

I wave her off. “Dude, you literally… Man, don’t worry about it. Let’s walk. You cool with walking and talking?”

Kate looks at me, grinning, almost a little manic looking. “One condition, Biggie Smalls.”

“Yeah?” I ask, glancing at Jamila, who glances at me.

“I wanna hear about the t-rex dude. You gotta tell me that story. Or like, you know…” She leans in close and whispers. “You can tell me your cover story or whatever. I just wanna know what a real t-rex looks like. All the videos are in the middle of the pouring rain, super foggy. Impossible to see shit.”

I thump her on the back – GENTLY this time. “Sure. I’ll tell you allllll about it, Smith.” Then, I thump her a little harder, and she catches herself before she can stumble into a fall. She looks at me and jerks her hand forward to pinch my nose. I consider retaliation, but I just sigh and start laughing instead.

Everything feels normal. Everything is fine.

“Deal,” Kate replies.


Enter your email and click the below “Subscribe” button to subscribe to updates.

Chum will update every Wednesday, with sporadic extra updates as I feel fit. To stay up to date with Chum, consider joining the Official Discord™️. If clicking that link is difficult, you can manually access it with the following invite: https://discord.gg/QHy8YM99vC

Comments, feedback, theorizing, speculation, questions, etc. are all greatly appreciated. Additionally, if you enjoy Chum and would like to offer your financial support, you can find my Patreon at https://patreon.com/bearsharktopus, or donate a one-time donation at https://paypal.me/bstdev.


Leave a comment